For PRINCE2® Foundation
For PRINCE2® Practitioner
For PRINCE2® Foundation-and-Practitioner


ITIL (IT Infrastructure Library®) is the most widely adopted framework for IT Service Management in the world. It is a practical approach to the identification, planning, delivery and support of IT services to the business. It describes how IT resources should be organized to deliver business value, documenting the processes, functions and roles of IT Service Management (ITSM).

ITIL principles are used by a number of organizations in both the public and private sectors such as NASA, IBM, HP, British Telecom, HSBC bank, L'Oreal and many others.

ITIL is created and owned by the Office of Government Commerce (OGC), the ITIL best practices are explained in five core guidance publications outlining the fundamental ITIL principles which focus on areas within the service management discipline.

ITIL Best Practices also underpin the foundations of ISO/IEC 20000 (previously BS15000), the International Service Management Standard for organizational certification and compliance.

ITIL Qualifications Scheme

The ITIL Qualifications Scheme has four levels:�

  • Foundation Level (2 credits)
  • Intermediate Level Lifecycle Modules: Five standard lifecycle modules. Each module earns 3 credits.
    • Service Strategy
    • Service Design
    • Service Transition
    • Service Operations
    • Continual Service Improvement
  • Intermediate Level Capability Modules: Four standard capability modules Each module earns 4 credits.
    • Planning, Protection and Optimization (PPO)
    • Service Offerings and Agreements (SOA)
    • Release, Control and Validation (RCV)
    • Operational Support and Analysis (OSA)
  • Managing Across the Lifecycle (5 credits)
  • ITIL Expert ( 22 credits)
  • ITIL Master

How does ITIL work for my organization?

The IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is a universally accepted approach to the management and delivery of IT Services. Organizations implement ITIL best practices to improve service, increase productivity, better manage IT costs and develop a better understanding of the activities in the IT department.

Following are the benefits of ITIL:

  • Provides a single documented framework for IT best practices that flow across the IT organization.
  • Reduces IT costs and justifies the cost of IT quality and supports improvement of user productivity
  • Supports ability of IT to measure and improve internal performance and service provisioning.
  • Improves communication and information flows between IT and organization business departments and identifies roles and responsibilities for IT Service Management.
  • Improves ability of IT to adjust as business opportunities and challenges are presented.
  • Improves relationship of IT with the business � builds trust.

ITIL Examination Scheme

ITIL Foundation Exam

There are no pre-requisites/eligibility criteria for taking the ITIL Foundation Exam. However, general understanding of IT is preferable.

Format for ITIL Foundation Exam

40 multiple choice questions per paper

One hour duration

Each question carries one mark.

No negative marking for incorrect answers

Passing percentage is 65% i.e., 26 out of 40

ITIL Intermediate Exam

Candidates wishing to be trained and examined for this qualification must already hold the ITIL Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management.

Format for ITIL Intermediate Exams

Scenario-based, gradient scored questions.

40 multiple choice questions per paper

One and a half hour duration

Each question has 4 options. Best answer carries 5 marks, next best answer carries 3 marks and the next best answer carries 1 mark and there is one Distractor option which carries no mark.

No negative marking for incorrect answers

Passing percentage is 70% i.e., 28 out of 40

Book online


Request a call back to speak to a Training counsellor today.

Untitled Page